Who Knew Oatmeal Could Taste So Good?

Ugh.  I have been seriously lacking on the whole crafty portion of this blog.  I’m a full-time student and school and homework have been really overwhelming lately, making it next to impossible to craft or knit anything.  To be honest, it’s a miracle I even have time to make this post, but I figure I might as well reward myself somehow. 🙂

Anyway, with all the chaos surrounding my academic life lately, I’ve been trying really hard to stay motivated in eating well and working out.  I just got back from a little cardio session at the gym, so I’m proud of that.  I can’t help but wonder how parents with full-time jobs still find the time to work out.  I always see men and women at the gym who are hauling their kids in behind them, looking so exhausted.  My gym offers a daycare service so parents can drop their kids off while they work out.  But at 7 pm, the last thing I’d want to do is pick up my kids from daycare after a long day’s work, then go workout for an hour.  So, my hat is off to all those mothers and fathers who still find the time to stay fit.

Okay, let me rewind to this morning.  After a weekend of vegging out with friends and family, I was determined to start off the week right with something healthy for breakfast.  So, I made this delicious oatmeal with blueberries, only realizing after I was halfway done that it serves 4, and I was only feeding myself.  Whoops.

Don’t get excited; I didn’t take this picture.  Credit for the photo and recipe goes to the weight watcher’s cookbook that has now become my shrine.

Rich and Creamy Oatmeal with Blueberries and Walnuts
Serves 4
284 Calories per Serving (1 cup)

3 cups of water
2 cups quick-cooking (not instant) oats
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 cup fat-free milk
1 1/2 cups thawed frozen fat-free whipped topping
1 cup fresh blueberries
1 tablespoon chopped walnuts

  1. Combine the water, oats, sugar, and cinnamon in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil.  Stir constantly until thickened, about 5 minutes.
  2. Remove saucepan from heat and stir in the milk.  Fold in the whipped topping and blueberries, sprinkle with the walnuts.
  3. Serve and enjoy!

I never used to be a huge oatmeal person, but with the winter months and how cold it’s been in Wisconsin lately, it’s slowly becoming one of my favorite breakfasts.  Also, although the directions call for about five minutes of stirring, mine only took about two or three to thicken considerably.  It’s quick, easy, and quite filling.

Hope you all enjoy!

Holly, not Hollie

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

