Love Me Some Birchbox

The second week of every month is always my favorite week, for two reasons.

  1. I get my Cosmo magazine
  2. My Birchbox comes!

For those of you who don’t know what Birchbox is, I believe I mentioned it here.  Essentially, it’s a box filled with girlie things that comes once a month, kind of like your period.  Except this is something to look forward to, not dread.

This month, I was pretty pleased with what I received.

  1. Annick Goutal, Petite Cherie (far left):  Described as “a blend of fresh fruity notes and musk,” I really liked this scent.  The one thing I wasn’t a huge fan of was the fact that it was super light, and even after applying it I could barely smell it, even with my nose stuck to my wrists.  Birchbox often sends me little samples of perfume (obviously in hopes that I will cough up the money for a full bottle), but I usually just end up hoarding them.  The only sample I’ve bought so far was Kate Spade’s Twirl, which I also mentioned in that link above.
  2. Tarte, LipSurgence (pink tube): LOVE LOVE LOVE this!  Normally, I don’t wear lipsticks/stains/gloss, because my lips tend to get chapped very easily so I usually just stick to Chapstick.  However, this stain also has super-moisturizing qualities, which is exactly what I need.  The color ends up being a little too bright pink for me, but after a dab or two with a Kleenex it’s great.  I really needed something like this to class-up my day to day look, so the Birchbox gods must have been looking out for me.
  3. Essie, Luxeffects (nail polish): I think I love sparkly nail polish a little too much, and this polish was exactly what I needed.  It’s meant to go on after you’ve pained your nails a different color, so I tried it with a peach color I just got from Julep.  It looked really great, and I’m excited to wear it more with brighter colors in spring.  The only problem I encountered with this was that it was pretty hard to get off.  I used Curex nail polish remover pads, and I went through three just to get all the glitter off.
  4. Shiseido, Pureness Oil-Control Blotting Papers: Alright, I kind of have a bone to pick with this one.  With Birchbox, you take a survey when you first sign up, telling the company about your specific skin, hair, nail, makeup, what-have-you types.  I have dry skin, not oily skin.  Usually, Birchbox sends me moisturizers or something along that line which really helps my skin.  So, needless to say I was kind of surprised to find oil blotting papers in this month’s box.  I don’t think I’m ever going to use these, so unfortunately it was kind of a waste for them to send it to me.  Oh well.
  5. Twistband, Hair Tie (yellow thing): It’s actually kind of funny that they sent me this hair tie, because about six months ago, I bought a whole pack of these.  Online, they looked like headbands, and they were super cheap so I bought them.  I ended up with teeny tiny hair ties which I don’t ever use, and now I have a yellow one to top it off!  Their claim to fame is not giving you that hideous bump in your hair after you take out a ponytail, but I have yet to experience that lack-of-bump with these hair ties, unfortunately.

Well, there ya have it!  I hope you guys found these mini-reviews helpful, and although this wasn’t the best box I’ve gotten, I hope I haven’t turned you guys off from Birchbox.  Overall, it really is a wonderful company, and they are pretty consistent in sending you things that you like.  This month was probably just a fluke.

Holly, not Hollie

Tagged , , ,

6 thoughts on “Love Me Some Birchbox

  1. I’m still waiting for my March box, but I like everything you got. I am crossing my fingers I get the Tarte LipSurgence though. I love those! Is it full-size? Or a sample size?

  2. Thank you for posting this! I am so on board with that. So reasonable too. Lovely blog!!!

    xo

    amysvintagecloset.wordpress.com

  3. pearlessence says:

    Love the Essie polish – so jealous!

Leave a Reply

