Oh, the Woes of Knitting

There is perhaps nothing more disheartening than a severely-tangled ball of yarn.

I’m not sure if the yarn that I bought was cheap or what, but it originally came in a center pull ball.  After each row, however, I would be forced to yank out the yarn and untangle it, because for some reason it kept getting tangled inside the ball.  So, after hours of meticulously untangling after each row, I finally said eff it and completely massacred the entire ball in hopes of finding an easier way to untangle it.  And hence, the picture above.

I only spent about $9 for the one pound ball, so it’s not like it was expensive, but I just can’t bring myself to toss it and start over with a new ball of yarn.  It just seems like such a waste.  But then again, I don’t have the time nor the patience to unravel the entire mess I have created.

Awhile ago, I said that I was feeling a little guilty because I am a self-proclaimed lover of crafting, and yet I have nothing to show for it.  I thought I should share this little setback with you guys in hopes of explaining my lack of crafting posts.  Also, here’s how far I got in my afghan before disaster struck.

I’d say this is a pretty admirable feat for someone who taught themselves how to knit from a couple Youtube videos and a lot of determination.

Any pointers on how to untangle this ball of yarn without ripping my hair out?

Holly, not Hollie

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Oh, the Woes of Knitting

  1. annieblog says:

    My 10 year old loves to untangle things. So I give those projects to her. OR – I have PAID a friend to do it for me – I knit her a scarf once she got the darn thing untangled. I think it really helped to have someone else do it. She wasn’t stressed about it. She took her time – there was really no pressure for her, so she cranked right through it.
    Best of luck!

    • Thanks! I had my boyfriend do it for me once, but like me, he doesn’t have the patience to untangle a whole ball like that. Maybe I’ll pay someone to do it…it would probably be worth it!
      Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

