What I Do Instead of Studying

Normally I’m not a procrastinator, but it’s days like these where I suffer from a highly rare condition: idontwanttodomyhomeworkitis.  This condition stems from days where you have already finished a lot of things on your to-do list, and although there’s more, you just want to put it off as long as possible.  Now when I say “finished a lot of things”, I mean two.  But whatever.

So, instead of doing homework, this is what I did.

Just a little hemp bracelet.

I was planning on making a beaded bracelet, only to find out that after going to Walmart AND Michael’s, they didn’t offer the type of cord that I needed (mind you, this was after I bought $20 worth of beads and things to make the bracelets).  So instead, I bought some hemp, found this wonderful tutorial, and made this bracelet.

If you’re planning on following in my footsteps and using the tutorial, just a couple notes.

  • You do NOT need seven feet of hemp, especially if you’re just making a bracelet.  If you use seven feet, this is what happens when you’re finished.

Such a waste of material.

  • In the tutorial, it says to clip down the middle two strands of hemp while you weave the outer strands.  Although this is helpful, you don’t really need to do this.  I simply taped the loop of the bracelet down to my laptop and wove the bracelet.  Since I’m lazy, it was easier than finding a clip and worked just as well.
  • I would suggest using thick hemp for this project.  As you can see from the picture above, I used thinner hemp and it turned out pretty small.  I didn’t feel like going out and buying more hemp, so in order to make a second bracelet I doubled up on the hemp (using four pieces instead of two) and although it worked pretty well, it ended up being too short which is why it’s not pictured.  So, this is an option for you too if you don’t have thicker hemp.
My plan is to make some beaded bracelets (I ended up ordering the cord online), so I’ll post those once I’ve made them.  Can’t wait to layer these this spring and summer!

Happy crafting!

Holly, not Hollie

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “What I Do Instead of Studying

  1. […] than that, I really don’t feel the need to spend a lot of money on jewelry.  After recently making some of my own jewelry, however, I am hoping to soon perfect this stacked bracelet look.  I have always loved bracelets, […]

Leave a Reply

