Marbled Nails

Ever since I kicked my nail biting habit, I have realized one of the most basic satisfactions of life: painting your nails.  Before about a year ago, I had never noticed just how many truly beautiful colors of polish were out there.  Although my bank account is probably a little pissed with newfound polish obsession, I’m just happy that I can now create art on my nails.

I recently saw on Pinterest that someone had essentially “marbled” their nails, and I couldn’t resist trying.  Now, this might be really common and I’m just now getting on the bandwagon, but I thought it was the coolest thing I’ve ever seen.  So, without further ado, my attempt at the marbled nail.

So by now, hopefully you know to have very low expectations when it comes to my photography skills, and this picture is no exception.  It’s a little blurry and hard to see, but I layered green and blue to give my nails the marbled effect.

First, I started with Limelight by Ulta.

I got this color for Christmas, and while I was layering the blue I was thinking that layering this green with red might make a cute Christmas polish. Or it might look really gaudy.  Who knows.

These were the two colors I used.

The green (right), like I said, is Limelight by Ulta, and the blue that I used as a top coat is Noel by Zoya.

The whole process of making the marbled look is actually really simple.  All you have to do is paint your nails with your base coat (green, in my case).  After it dries, take some plastic or Saran wrap, tear it up, and scrunch it into little balls, one for each finger.  Then, paint your nails with the top coat (I found doing my nails one by one to be easiest) and while the polish is still wet, dab at the polish with the plastic wrap.  Let the polish dry, paint on a clear coat of polish, and you’re done!  Simple as that.

Let me know if you guys try it!  I’d love to see how yours turn out.

Holly, not Hollie

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Marbled Nails

  1. I think there are other ways to do the marbled effect as well, but yours look really cute:)

  2. Right now I am obsessed with YouTube tutorials. Cutepolish is my go-to guru for nail art! You might really like this marble tutorial that I found recently. http://youtu.be/D9A_9FH7e-A

    I’ve been wanting to try it so bad! (Reminds me of arts and crafts in elementary school.. Ha!) Waiting on a free weekend to do so. 🙂 Good luck with your nail adventures!

Leave a Reply

