Well, I’m Feeling Motivated

Nothing makes you feel like you’re behind in the game of life than having your best friend buy a house.  At age 20.

One of my best friends L just bought her own house.  She works and goes to school full-time, and somehow has saved up enough money to buy a beautiful house, while paying for school out of pocket.  My other friend M bought a house with her fiance a few months ago too.  And here I am, living with my mom and boyfriend, just trying to make it through school.  Oh, did I mention M is 20 too?  I feel like a slacker.

Anyways, L is having a housewarming party on Saturday, and M and I were trying to figure out some cute housewarming gifts for her.  That’s when I decided that I was going to knit her an afghan.  In five days.

The pattern is pretty simple, but the last time I tried to knit an afghan, I got annoyed about halfway through and decided to turn it into a blanket for my dog.  And that afghan took weeks, so I have no idea how I’m going to pull this off in only a few days.  But, now that I’ve told M I’m going to do it, I can’t back out.  This will be a challenge, but if I finish it in time, I will be absurdly pleased with myself.

Wish me luck!

Holly, not Hollie

 

Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Well, I’m Feeling Motivated

  1. If you run out of time, and if you’re making a granny-square afghan, you can always tell your friend that they’re potholders!

  2. […] Yesterday I told you guys about my friend L’s housewarming party, and that I was going to knit up an afghan for her in five days.  I thought I should show you the progress I’ve made so far. […]

Leave a Reply

