Some More Nail Art

Bored with my marbled nails, I decided to visit my nail art board on Pinterest in hopes of some inspiration.  I came across this fabulous tutorial from Birchbox and decided to try it out.

Items needed:

  • At least three colors of contrasting nail polish
  • Scotch tape
  • A pair of scissors

First, I painted my nails three different colors.

I used (blue) Noel by Zoya (which I also used for the marbled nails), (green) Envy by Ulta, and (silver) Agent Glam by Anise.

The tutorial made it clear that I should wait until the next day to do the actual art, which I only understood after I attempted to tape up my nails.  Let me tell you from experience, you should definitely wait until the next day.  Waiting sucks, but you don’t want to rip the paint off half of your  nails.

So, next day arrives.  Cut the tape into different shapes to form different patterns on your nails.  Be sure to press down firmly on the tape, since you don’t want the polish to seep underneath.

I made my patterns pretty simple because my nails aren’t super long, but there’s a lot of really cute ideas in the tutorial.

Next, take a contrasting color of your choosing and paint the exposed part of each nail.  Alternate colors depending on your base color.  Then, peel off the tape while the nails are still wet, let dry, and paint on a nice clear top coat.

And voila!

Beautiful, unique nails!

Holly, not Hollie

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Some More Nail Art

  1. Love this! I get gel nails (I bite my nails if I don’t :/) but if I could paint my nails fun colors I’d totally use this idea!

Leave a Reply

