Unmotivated Girl Problems

Every single day I go through the same exact thought process.

Going to bed, 1 am: Tomorrow, I’m going to go work out.  I’m going to eat healthy and go to the gym and feel better about myself.

Wake up, 10 am: Ugh, I’m tired.  I’ll just read some blogs on WordPress, check my Facebook, then go get some breakfast.

11 am: I’m really full.  Maybe I should do some homework while I wait for my stomach to settle.

3 pm: Boyfriend will be home from school soon. Maybe I can convince him to take the dog for a walk with me.

4 pm: Boyfriend won’t go. What a surprise.  I need to start making dinner soon.

7 pm: I’m full.  Maybe I should do some knitting.

1 am: Why didn’t I work out today? Tomorrow I’m going to go to the gym.

Repeat cycle.

I lack motivation.  I’ll be the first to admit it.  When it comes to getting homework done or meeting a deadline, I’m on that shit like white on rice.  But when it comes to self-discipline or perseverance, I tend to let things slide.  A lot.

I’ve tried motivational quotes, eating plans, guilting myself into working out by reading other people’s weight-loss experiences.  Nothing sticks.  I go a week or two really motivated and excited about what I’m doing, then I miss one day and everything goes downhill.  I’m sure a lot of people have this problem, but when all I see is successful people, it makes it that much more difficult.

Whenever I get on one of my healthy kicks, my boyfriend is always really motivating and helpful.  However, he has the exact opposite problem that I do.  He can’t put on weight to save his life, whereas I eat a piece of bread and I can see the outlines of the crust in my belly two hours later.  He won’t work out with me, or try to eat healthy with me either.  It kind of makes sense, since he needs to eat like four pizzas a day to maintain his current body weight of 125 lbs, but things would be so much easier if I had someone who was trying to get healthy with me.

Or maybe I’m just making excuses.  Maybe things wouldn’t be any easier if my boyfriend, or anyone for that matter, was on board.  Maybe I just need to woman-up and deal with weight loss the same way I deal with homework and deadlines: with a no-nonsense attitude.  Maybe I just need to reread this post everyday to remind me of my feelings towards getting healthy and hope that it does the trick.  Or maybe I’m just destined to become a four hundred pound old woman with thirty-seven cats.  But I seriously hope not, because I hate cats.

What keeps you motivated on a daily basis?

Holly, not Hollie

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Unmotivated Girl Problems

  1. CultFit says:

    I think you may have answered your own questions? “…Maybe I just need to woman-up and deal with weight loss the same way I deal with homework and deadlines: with a no-nonsense attitude.
    Maybe, changing “maybe” to I will would work? Wish you the best!!!

    • I think by not giving myself a choice, like you said, I would probably make it to the gym more often. Ultimately, I would love for working out to just become part of my life where there’s no question of if I’ll do it or not. Hopefully I can get there at some point.
      Thanks for reading!

  2. Hey Holly, I get up everyday and just do it, first thing. I get up before my husband and kids, before the day gets away from me. I’ve found that, being an obsessive Type-A person, if I just schedule it, it becomes part of my “to-do” list and it gets done! Good luck! Also, I’ve had friends who needed motivation at times and they would ask me to text them to wake them up. Even though we weren’t working out together, they felt responsible to get up and answer to text and it got them going! Best Wishes!
    Kerry

Leave a Reply

