Six Things I Love Sunday: May 6

Hello all!  Today is going to be a busy posting day for me.  I posted earlier this morning about receiving P90X, and I’ve decided that every day I will post about my progress with the program.  And of course, I can’t forget about Six Things Sunday!  So here we go.

 

1. Pinterest

Why? At first I was a little slow on the uptake with this site, but I’ve come to love it.  For those of you who don’t know what I’m talking about, Pinterest is a virtual pinboard on which you pin photos of anything you want.  You can organize the pins in folders too, so you can easily access exactly which pin you want.  Unlike a lot of people I follow on Pinterest, I actually use the pins that I post.  It’s a great place to find new recipes, gets some crafting inspiration, or even learn new workouts, among a multitude of other things.  I suggest you check it out, and while you’re at it, go ahead and follow me. 🙂

2. Wedges

Why? When it comes to heels, these are my shoe of choice.  I am not a girl that can wear sky high stilettos without breaking an ankle or two, so wedges are my go-to option if I want to add some height.  Plus, nothing says summer like a cute pair of wedges.  I’m sorry, but when I’m walking around Summerfest later this year, the last thing I want is to trip and spill my $6 Miller Lite everywhere while getting my stiletto stuck in some random crack in the ground.  Wedges will ensure that this will not happen.

 3. Jeopardy!

What a guy.

Why? I have been watching this show for years.  And when I say years, I mean a decade.  I remember spending weekends at my dad’s house when I was younger, and on Friday nights we would always watch Jeopardy! and Wheel of Fortune back to back because he didn’t have cable.  This early exposure turned me into a Jeopardy! fiend.  I watch the show almost every single day, and I can’t get enough of Alex Trebek’s dry wit.  My ultimate goal in life is to be on this show, but I’d be lucky if I could even beat a monkey.  Oh well.  A girl can dream, right?

4. Nook Color by Barnes and Noble

 

Why? I used to be an avid reader.  When I was younger, I would plow through books like my life depended on it.  Even in school, while the teacher was talking, I would be reading textbooks and taking notes ahead of time just because I enjoyed doing it (nerd status, right?).  Surprisingly, this love for note-taking has stuck with me as I’ve gotten older, but for awhile, I completely stopped reading for pleasure.  After I started college, I was so overwhelmed with my course load that the last thing I wanted to do was pick up a book and read it for fun.  Then, I got my Nook for Christmas, and I haven’t put it down.  Since December, I have read 21 books, which is more than I had read in the last four years combined.  I know that a lot of people hate tablets because you don’t get the actual feel of holding a book, turning its pages, etc.  I had these same worries too.  But once you get past the electronic-ness of the Nook, it’s so much better than lugging a book around with you.  I can access thousands of books with a simple touch.  I get magazine subscriptions, many of which have a free monthly trial.  Plus, I’ve found free knitting patterns on my Nook, which is great for when I need a simple project to work on and don’t feel like buying a book of patterns.  Okay, I’m rambling now.  Long story short, I love my Nook, and you should definitely check it out.

5. Neutrogena Nourishing Eyeliner

Why? I received this in my BzzAgent campaign box a couple weeks ago, but Friday was the first time I got around to using it.  I went through a pretty intense eyeliner phase in my teens, and I now cringe realizing how much a raccoon and I had in common.  The past few years, I’ve opted for a more natural look, which requires me shunning eyeliner altogether.  Until Friday.  My friend and I went out to the bars, so I thought I’d give this eyeliner a try.  Not only did it make my eyes pop, but it comes with a smudger, providing me with a perfect smoky eye.  I had never been able to get the smoky eye down before, but the smudger really made all the difference.  The eyeliner comes in four different colors, and it’s only $7.49 on Neutrogena’s website.

6. That Moment When You Finish a Really Long Paper

Precisely.

Why? I don’t think this even needs an explanation.  I have a 12 page paper due tonight about social media.  Haven’t even started.  Wish me luck!

Holly, not Hollie

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Six Things I Love Sunday: May 6

  1. Good luck on the paper!! I love my Nook, too.

Leave a Reply

