Six Things I Love Sunday: July 1

Wow, it’s nice to be back in the blogosphere! No, I haven’t died and miraculously rose from the  grave in order to do Six Things Sunday.  My computer has actually been broken, thanks to a certain dog who fell off my bed onto my laptop.  Yep, that happened.  So, I’m borrowing a friend’s computer right now to get some homework done and the like, and I figured I might as well quick do this blog post since it’s been so long!

 

1. Victoria’s Secret Voluptuous Volume Mascara

Why? Strangely enough, this is my favorite mascara.  I know a lot of people have their favorite cosmetic brands, such as Revlon or Neutrogena, but I like to pick and choose my favorites from a bunch of different brands.  I ended up trying this because I had a free coupon of some sort, and now I’m obsessed.  No mascara has ever made my lashes look this good.

 

2. Asymmetrical Dresses

Why? For some reason, I am in love with this style for the summer.  I have too many dresses to count that have this asymmetrical hem, and I think it’s just such a fun and flirty way to switch up your style.  I know a lot of people who either love or hate the trend, so I’m interested to hear what you guys think!

 

3. Air Conditioning

Me. If I was Asian and in a stock photo.

Why? This is a no brainer, but the last few days in Wisconsin have been HOT.  And I don’t mean 80 degrees and sunny.  I mean 105 degrees and can’t leave the house because it’s so humid and nasty outside.  Thankfully, I live in a house that has been blessed with air conditioning, and I have been cranking that baby up in the last few days.  I have been selfishly wondering what people back in the olden days did without temperature control.  I hope I never have to find out.

 

4. Autumn

Why? Feeding off of my last favorite thing, I hate the heat.  I would be perfectly happy with the weather being a steady 65 degrees year round.  Unfortunately I live in a state with four seasons, so I only get that temperature for half the year.  Most people up here love summer because of the brutally cold winter months we undergo, but I embrace the cold.  If I had it my way, it would be autumn always.  I love the chill in the air, the reds and yellows in the trees, the crunch of leaves underneath your feet.  I love that winter is just around the corner, which means cozying up under blankets and frolicking in the snow.  Alright, this is starting to sound cliche.  Mostly, I love autumn, and I can’t wait for summer to be over.

 

5. Summerfest

Yes, it really is that crowded.

Why? I’m assuming a lot of you don’t know what Summerfest is, and you are missing out.  Summerfest is the world’s largest music festival, taking place in Milwaukee every year.  Basically, for eleven days, everyone gets drunk and parties and listens to music all day long.  It’s seriously the best place to be, and I’m going tonight to see Brantley Gilbert.  There’s over a million people that show up every single year, with over 700 bands playing each year.  If you love music, you need to put this glorious festival on your bucket list.

 

6. Sister Wives

Why? This show has become my guilty pleasure.  Everyone loves watching things that are unfamiliar to us; it’s human nature to be curious, after all.  So when I first heard about this show, I knew I had to check it out.  Basically, the Browns are a polygamous family, made up with four wives (hence, Sister Wives), and one husband.  I love watching them interact and learning their story and how they live.  They receive so much criticism for their lifestyle, but they’re just trying to live a normal life like the rest of us.  I really recommend that everyone watches this show at least once, because it is such an eye-opening experience.

Hope you all had a great weekend!

Holly, not Hollie

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment